Showing posts with label Maybelline. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Maybelline. Show all posts

Monday, February 4, 2013

The Rocket vs. Clump Crusher Mascara


Hey guys!

Mascara is without a doubt my favorite makeup to buy and use. It’s also one of the ones I’m the most picky about. I don’t know if it’s just me, but finding the perfect mascara is virtually impossible. If it’s not the formula that’s a little off, then it’s the wand. Or the packaging. Or the price. Or everything.

So in my search for the holy grail mascara from the drugstore, I decided to give the cult favorite, L’Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black a try. I’ve read from many blogs and magazines that this mascara is essentially magic in a tube.



On a trip to Target recently, my mom and I decided to try a couple and see what we think. She got the waterproof and I got the non-waterproof (I do not have the patience to take off waterproof mascara).

The results? Here's the before...



And the after!




 

I was pretty impressed honestly. I’ve been eyeing this mascara for a while now, but the reviews online always sorta scared me. People talked about raccoon eyes, smudging, goopies, and just pretty much stuff that makes nightmares when it comes to mascara. There’s nothing that I hate more than clumpy, messy mascaras, let me tell you.

This was nothing like that. It didn’t clump, went on easily, built up fast, and was pretty much great from the get go. It defines my lashes beautifully, makes them long, and like the title says, they are super black and definitely voluminous.

However, I do have a tiny complaint

First, it does sorta smudge. More than the other mascaras I currently love (Clump Crusher, Cat Eyes, Telescopic Shocking Extensions). If you have itchy, allergy eyes that water, don’t wear non-waterproof, because your mascara will be a black runny mess. Let me tell you.

It comes off pretty easily, but the next morning I still find some smudges below my eyes.

So final thoughts? I like it a lot. What makes me the most happy about this mascara is how fast and easily it builds up. It seems like I could spend 10 minutes with Clump Crusher or Telescopic Shocking Extensions building them up. This mascara definitely doesn't take that long to build up to where I like it. I think I'll definitely repurchase!

(If you like mascara reviews, make sure to check out my comparison between The Rocket and Clump Crusher, as well as the Telescopic Shocking Extensions!) See this compared to the new L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Excess! Love drugstore mascaras that add volume? Also look at my review of the Jordana Best Lash Volume Extreme mascara!

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Maybelline The Rocket Mascara First Impression!


Hey guys!
As with any trip to Target, last week I picked up a few things I had no intention of buying. One of those things, was Maybelline’s newest mascara, The Rocket. See, I wasn’t intending to pick it up for a few reasons. First, I’m definitely enjoying my Covergirl Clump Crusher mascara. It’s been awesome to use and I really like the results I get. It may not be my favorite when it’s compared to Maybelline’s Cat Eyes mascara, but it’s still really good.
I also watched a few first impressions videos about The Rocket mascara and honestly, wasn’t very impressed with what the formula looked like, and the results. It looks essentially like Maybelline’s version of the Last Blast from Covergirl (big plastic wand, very wet and clumpy formula). And while I love big dramatic lashes (it’s funny because they are the one thing that I love to be dramatic), it’s not worth the mess that a formula that’s clumpy and wet results in.

But it was calling me and the packaging sold me a little too (I honestly hate the packaging of the Clump Crusher). I find it extremely boring. Maybelline always wins when it comes to packaging in mascara. Here is the description Target’s website provided about the mascara:
“Explosive volume in rocket time! Bigger, smoother lashes. Now, the most explosive, beautiful lashes ever! Volum' Express The Rocket Mascara's patented supersonic brush with micro bristles loads on big, sleek volume instantly. Our fast-glide formula keeps lashes smooth. Zero clumps guaranteed!”

First Impressions:

-       Wet. And I hated it. It got everywhere. Below my eyes, on my lids. Everywhere but the lashes.

-       The brush is too big to coat the lashes well. I think the curved wands from my last two mascaras spoil me. But this seemed impossible.

-       Did I mention it was so wet that it took forever to dry? I was afraid to sneeze because I thought it’d somehow end up on my forehead.

-       It washed off pretty well with my Simple wipes though.

Despite these less than impressive results, I went back the next few days and tried again. Day 2 was much the same. I wanted nothing more than to go back to my Clump Crusher mascara, cutting my losses with The Rocket. Day 3 however, I noticed a significant difference. Maybe my lashes were curled differently (let’s just say I’m struggling a tad with my MAC one. It seems to curl too much, like at a 90 degree angle!), but the process went so much smoother and the results were ones that I actually loved!

-       The volume was fantastic. My lashes were dramatic and black! Long and pretty! Not as defined as other mascaras, but the length and volume were definitely there!

-       Not nearly as much clumpiness as before!

-       It was still wet and managed to coat my nose and eyelid, but the control seemed much better.

-       Did I mention my lashes looked fantastic?

-       It took one coat. One. Not ten minutes like sometimes I feel the Clump Crusher takes to get my lashes looking dramatic.

So as you can see, there are some mixed results. I’ve had two days of ehhh and two days of amazing. I’ll keep using it and keep you posted about my final thoughts on this mascara.

Have you tried it? Any thoughts? What’s your go to drugstore brand for mascara?

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Cat Eyes Caitie

So I’m obsessed with trying out new drugstore mascaras. I think we all go through that stage. As I’ve said before, I believe that finding the perfect mascara is a lot like what Randy from Say Yes to the Dress says about finding the perfect wedding gown or husband: “When you find one you love, just stop looking.”

And I have found ones I love:

· L’Oreal Voluminous Millions Lashes

· Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes!

· ELF Mineral Infused Mascara

But…there’s just so many with cute packaging and under $10 at Target and Walmart that call me! For instance, on a recent trip to Walmart, I was just walking around the cosmetics section. And that’s when I saw Maybelline Volum’ Express Colossal Cat Eyes Mascara. See, I noticed not too long ago one of my sorority sisters had this mascara on her dresser. I had never seen it before, so I was like, “huh, I wonder what that is?” So coming face to face with it in Walmart seemed like fate. Plus it was yellow, had leopard print on it, was under $6, and apparently has a crazy wand. So I bought it.
Before using it, I read some reviews of it online, and found that most people were less than impressed with it. This made me sad before I even opened up the package. A lot said that it didn’t do anything special, the formula had all sorts of issues, and a bunch of other stuff I completely forgot.
However, when I started using it, I was so shocked! I love it! See, I hated the Falsies. So I didn’t have very high hopes for this. But the practically “C” shaped wand works so well on my eye shape! It looks fantastic and I can really see a more dramatic cat eye look for my lashes! Plus it doesn’t clump, smear, or smudge (take that Falsies!).

Maybe I’m just really easy to impress when it comes to mascara these days, but I’d say everything I’m using has been great!

Have you recently purchased any new mascara? Do you like to try new ones out, or just stick with your tried and true?

 

Friday, August 31, 2012

August Favorites


Hope everyone that is in school or college is having a great first couple weeks (or week, like me)! I know mine has been super busy with classes and sorority stuff, but that's just how it goes sometimes!

So I thought that I'd take a break and share some of my August favorites right now!

I just want to mention that this is by no means a "fall favorites." It just so happens though, that a lot of the items are fall related, mostly because I love fall. And I got a lot of it for back to school.



Candy Corn Pocketbac

 
So I kinda bought this stuff from Bath and Body Works on a whim. See, I had a coupon for a free signature body care item of my choosing if I spent $10. So since I was already spending like $5 on some handsoap I needed for school, I decided to stock up on some of the cute fall and Halloween pocketbacs. Candy Corn is the first one I’ve tried and so far I’m in love! It smells maybe a tad more caramel than you’d expect, but it’s so yummy smelling! I definitely recommend it!

 

Skunk Scentportable

 
He might seem a tad random, but this skunk Scentportable holder is one of my favorite things I bought from the back to school shopping trip to Bath and Body Works. See, it’s kind of a running joke with my family since we have two skunks that have been pretty much calling our backyard their home all summer. So, when I went to college, I wanted something to remember them. Plus, I think it’s super adorable! It’s currently living on my sunvisor in my car, and I absolutely adore it!

 

Leaves

 
Even though I showed the candles, I picked up the scents in Wallflower and Scentportable form. Right now, leaves resides in my car, and it seriously makes me so happy. It’s this refreshing, but cozy, cinnamon apple smell (not what I expected, but that’s good!). Every time I drive someone in my car, they always comment on how good it smells. And I have to agree. After just having it two days in my car, I went right out and brought another to stock up!

 

Pumpkin Cupcake

 
When I smelled this in Bath and Body Works earlier in August, I instantly fell in love with this cozy sweet fall scent. It’s like, spending time in the most amazing bakery ever. I love the pumpkin, I love the sweetness, and it instantly makes me want to wear sweaters and drink hot chocolate! Like leaves, I have gotten so many exclamations of how great my room smells with it! This is something I also stocked up on after trying it out!

 

Baby Lips Tinted Moisturizer in Cherry Me

 
I held out for the longest time with this. But I finally gave in and bought it…and fell in love. It feels awesome on my lips, which is sort of rare because I hate the feeling of lipgloss or anything on my lips. I like the little pop of color too. Perfect for a busy college girl’s morning!

 

Philosophy’s I Love Candy Corn Cleanser

 
This was one of my most anticipated back to college purchases! And it’s so worth it! As you’ve noticed already, fall smells are my weakness. Actually, fall ANYTHING is my weakness. And this Candy Corn scent is perfect. It’s sweet, has lots of caramel in it, and makes me want Halloween! The smell just engulfs the room when I shower and has a really good staying power on my skin. Definitely a great purchase! Plus, I love how Philosophy’s cleansers leave my skin soft, smooth, and most importantly: itch free!

 

 
Lilly Pulitzer’s Soft Cover Agenda in Multi Floral Punch

 
Yep, with the start of school, it’s finally time for me to use this adorable planner! And I honestly, couldn’t ask for more! I love the lines and spaces to write. The illustrations and pictures and quotes just brighten my day! It’s so pretty and cute! Definitely my favorite school supply that I bought. I must say, I think I’m now a true convert from Vera Bradley Agendas to Lilly Pulitzer.

So what were some of your August favorites? Let me know!

Friday, July 13, 2012

Product Battles: Mascara and BB Cream

So if you've read my daily makeup post, I promised a couple of reviews on BB Cream and a couple of mascaras. After using and comparing them, I can finally tell you my thoughts.

First up, BB Creams!



The two BB creams that I tried out were:
                 -Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream ($39 at Sephora
                 -Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Protector ($11.99 at Target)

So I'm pretty late on the whole BB cream scene. And I also know that people all say that the western BB creams have absolutely nothing on the Asian ones. But I'm not a huge fan of ordering things online, especially when it involves trying to match it to my face.

Anyway, the idea of a BB cream is perfect for me. I don't want to cake on foundation and I definitely just want a natural look. Plus, I love the fact that BB creams usually contain SPF, since I don't wear sunscreen (I know...), and I love all the benefits they claim to have. Plus the hype on Youtube and other blogs was just hard to ignore. So I decided to go with the high and low of the most popular western versions (I don't count Dior's $50+ kind, because that's just ridiculous to me).

So here we go into a little breakdown...

Picture from imabeautygeek.com


 The first I used was the Garnier version because it was so inexpensive and I've heard almost all positive things about it.

I liked:
-Fresh Clean Smell
-Great Coverage
-Cheap
-Blended Well
-Fantastic Staying Power

I Disliked:
-Only 2 colors available
-Dewy
-Sticky/Oily
-Heavy Feeling

So the first three or so days I absolutely loved it. It worked fantastic under my MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural and covered most of my redness and made my skin look great. I don't consider myself to have super oily skin, but after the first couple uses, it just became awful. I felt like I seriously took fried chicken and just rubbed it all over my face. Yes, our humidity was high (generally we live in a pretty dry climate), but when I went without, it wasn't pawing at my face. Overall, I would give it (for me) 3 stars (out of 5). The moisture was just way overboard for me.


I decided after the Garnier version, to try one that was also just as hyped up, but had even more promise to it, since it claims to "maintain moisture" on the face.

I like:
-Not Oily
-Matte finish
-SPF 35
-Coverage (honestly not as good as Garnier though)
-Lasting Power ok (Garnier was better too)

I Dislike:
-Price
-Smell (not a big deal though)
-I feel like I need more product with this than the Garnier to cover my face well
-Doesn't last more than 8 hours

This was definitely an improvement for me just because it didn't make my face so darn oily. Instantly I noticed that this is harder to blend, and that I needed a little bit more product. But overall I do like it, and I think it improves the look of my skin. I would give it probably a 4 or 4.5 stars. I know I plan to keep using it, definitely.

By the way, if anyone has used the Too Faced BB Cream, please tell me your thoughts! I just played around in Sephora with it, but I was afraid it wouldn't provide as much coverage and would be pretty oily.


PART 2

Battle of Mascara



Finding the perfect mascara ranks among the difficulty of finding the perfect wedding dress and even the perfect man. It takes a lot of frogs, to find just the right now. And while others claim that they love this mascara or that one, and then you try them out, and they are awful. It's because you won't get the same sparks from kissing their boyfriend that they do, I guess.

So a few months a go I came across a blog (I Pink I Love You), that talked all about her love for L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes. I went to Target, bought some for like $8 I think.

I Like:
-The Flashy Gold Tube
-Shape of the brush is really comfortable
-No weird smell
-Dries well and fast
-Doesn't smudge or smear
-Comes off relatively easy with my MAC makeup remover
-Classy look, no spider leg-look
-Doesn't Clump
-Lengthens
-Defines
-Good Volume

I Dislike:
-A tad expensive for drugstore
-For a more dramatic night look, several layers may be needed

Okay, so the two dislikes were definitely hard to find. I consider myself to have better than most eyelashes, so if you have short ones, you may have a slightly different opinion. There's pretty much nothing I dislike about this mascara. This is my first mascara I've tried that hasn't been Covergirl or Maybelline, mostly because I was under the false impression that no other drugstore mascaras are any good. But I was SO wrong! Heaven. That's what this is.

But like finding the perfect wedding dress or husband, sometimes you just can't help but make sure you checked out every option, even after you are pretty sure you found the one. And that was me with Maybelline's The Falsies. I saw so many gurus on Youtube using it and I loved the dramatic look of their lashes. And I bought it. (I got the non-flared, regular version)

I Liked:
-The curved wand
-Went on easily
-Definitely added a ton of length
-Dramatic

I Disliked:
-Smudging and smearing (ridiculous, I felt like it never dried. Even 10 hours after applying)
-Spider look (yuck)
-Not a good everyday look
-Didn't want to come off with my remover (it just sat underneath my eye)
-Sticky
-Clumpy
-Flakes

Ugh. I was so disappointed. Honestly, it's not even in bottom three of my least favorite mascaras (No, that's left for Great Lash and Lash Blast), but it's not a favorite at all. After three days, I just couldn't take it anymore.

 I went back to my L'Oreal. And I'm in love. I promise to never doubt it again (although trying out high end mascaras might be calling...). Like Randy from Say Yes to the Dress once said, "Once you find the right man, you need to just to stop looking. Same with a wedding gown."

And definitely the same for mascara.

So there you have it! Any favorites you wanna add? Have you tried these products and had similar results or completely different?

Thanks for reading!